Amanda’s Grilled Portabella Mushrooms

Mushrooms are very versatile and there are a number of different ways you should cook them, depending on the variety of mushroom. This is one of my favorite recipes, especially when I am short on time or when I want something that isn’t as heavy as eating meat. This recipe involves little preparation and cooking time…you’re looking at about 20 minutes of actual work.

Ingredients:

4-6 large portabella caps

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

3 tablespoons chopped onion

2-4 cloves minced garlic (I use 4 since I LOVE garlic)

4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (I have also used red wine vinegar on these and they were delicious. I’m not a huge fan of vinegar, so I usually omit this part.)

Directions:

Whisk together the olive oil, onion, garlic and vinegar.

Clean mushrooms, remove the stems and dry them off.  Place them gill side up on a plate.

Pour the marinade over the mushrooms and let them sit for about an hour.

Grill or broil 4-5 minutes on each side.

Serve immediately.

 

There are a few different serving options as well. Sometimes I sprinkle some freshly grated Parmesan cheese over them. Other times, I make a sandwich with sprouted bread, pesto, Parmesan, spinach and sprouts.